Withering.

Up early and a good thing I was.  Reclining on the sofa, coffee in one hand, iPad in the other when Alan arrived at the door.   It was a sunny morning, he had a bit of free time and would it be OK to dig up the stumps I wanted rid  of ?   He would have phoned but didn't have my number.  Of course I said yes and shot out to remove heaps of garden debris that would be in his way.  Made him some tea and fell back on the sofa to recover.  It didn't take him all that long and I was able to pay him by card on the spot.  Had to start cleaning the kitchen almost immediately but it got done and I had a little rest before the groceries arrived.  Lunch was late then I drove round and parked at the tennis courts. They are close to the back gate of Falkland Palace and I wanted to photograph the aconites.  Poking my camera through the locked gates didn't produce great results so I may go back with my compact camera which will be easier to manipulate.  Wasn't out all that long but I was frozen stiff when I got back home.  Lay around checking out witch hazel.  Found out the one I wanted needed a bit of protection and I'm having second thoughts.  Most of the others are too big.  Back to the drawing board it is and I can shilly shally forever.  In my youth I made decisions in seconds.  Went to photograph the birds and found they had scoffed all the bird seed so gave them second helpings and photographed the pieces that had fallen off the remaining poinsettia instead.  This year's trio have not lasted well. Usually they keep going for months.  It's been horribly cold and we are being threatened with snow once more.  The Met is beginning to sound  like the boy crying wolf. The gas fire has been put on however. It looks like a wood burning stove and is so cosy.   Going to have a large BLT and an equally large glass of wine and a bit of comfort reading.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.