Alder Catkins.

It's been a nice day. Cold but sunny. Windy but dry.  I got up fairly early for me, fed the birds, had breakfast and read the news.  Why I don't know as it does my blood pressure no good. All my exercises were done before lunch, then off  to the Pillars for milk and eggs, dried fruit and a vegan pie for dinner. I used to buy them often as there was a chestnut one I loved but the  flavours  stocked now have changed. This one is more a hot spicy mix, hopefully not too hot.  Had a long chat with the young woman serving me. Turns out she's not a people person either. There are more of us about than I thought.  She's trying to give herself a push to join a walking group so I was encouraging her.  Made me remember when I joined the Ramblers on my own and how I had to give myself a push to do it too.   Afterwards I went to the Community Woodland at Strath for my walk.  Photographed lichen and catkins. I thought all alder catkins were wine coloured but there are more kinds of alder than I knew. The wine coloured ones belong to the black alder.  There were some on a tree next to where I found these yellow ones but they weren't fully out.  Explored a new bit of path up to where a little bridge crossed the burn then went back to the car feeling I'd done enough.  Hopefully I'll go further another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.