Capital adventures

By marchmont

4500 - at the Butter Market

It seems I've reached another milestone.  Not 4500 consecutive, but 45oo nevertheless.  

How did I spend this momentous day?  Looked out the window in the middle of the night and decided that I would pass on today's swim.  Outside was a dusting of snow and white frost!

Spent the first half of the morning getting ready to set off on my wee jaunt. Then took Mum to the dentist.  It was cold - and icy wind and slippy drive.  Parking was a nightmare but I dropped off Mum and headed to get petrol before running to sit in the waiting room. 

Mum had a long appointment, almost an hour.  I took the opportunity to add my name to the lengthening waiting list for check ups.  Dropped Mum at the Manor and stopped in past home to pick a few last minute things I'd forgotten.  Dropped my water bottle.  Tiles are very unforgiving.

Then  I was off south down the A68 and then across the N York Moors.  Wow that was wild.  Desolate and steep hills with hairpins bends.  Driving into the sun  was hard.  I could hardly see.  Just as well I was headed for Barnard Castle.  130 miles and exactly 3 hours driving. 


My gaff is bijou but very pretty and the wood burning stove will ward off the cold that is forecast for tonight. The catsitter will have to cope with Willow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.