Nine Balloons

I had an alert to an upcoming milestone from Blip central the other day. I got out my calculator and worked out that today is my ninth Blip birthday. So I found eight balloons at Ashleigh's florist shop and got the ninth with a double exposure.

Nine solid (almost) years of Blips with one or two gaps in the first year. I might fill in some of those missing entries if I can find the photos on an old external drive. 

I've so enjoyed it and the friendly comments and opportunities to see other photographers' styles and get links to music that I didn't know about (thanks Charlie17 and FolkieBookNerd). Laughs (MargaretMarks), beautiful scenes from the top of the Chilterns with sculptures mixed in (HClaireB) and scudding seabirds (Rob Wilkinson).

Beautiful low-key street scenes (Cheeryoscuro) and similar from hic. Professional skills with inspirational ideas from Pod2008 and a continuing  macro masterclass from Aliscotia. John39 has an entertaining site but, John, you wont let me comment! Lady G impresses and amuses with her accounts of pottery and the lad.

I love looking in on scenes of small town France (rmw) and other French Blippers including Charente. These images remind me of when I had a holiday house in the Charente-Maritime.

BobsBlips makes me go all dizzy when I open one of his drone shots and thanks, Bob, for your off-line camera advice. BoHingles Blips keeps us entertained with his growing family and mountain biking exploits and Chris G with his road cycling. 

Chrispybox is an old friend from the photo society and I enjoy Lisa Christie's almanack of Bethnal Green. I've made friends on Blip including Matthew Hicks. MJO is a recent joiner who is posting brilliant stuff.

There are some great images coming from Finland and Scandinavia where there seems to be almost year through snow. Subscribers from Belgium, Holland and Denmark also keep me entertained and informed. I follow various Scottish subscribers - I love Scotland and want to see more of it. Never been to Oz but the Blippers down under give me a flavour of it. It looks kind of big.

Oh gosh, the trouble is that I realise having written this selection, those of you who I also follow but hav'n't acknowledged here will think I don't love you. That's the thing about Blip - it takes you off on tangents and diversions where you get to look in on so many supportive and friendly people. You know who I follow and I do look in on you all- and thanks for coming back to me from time to time with your comments. 

Whether I mange to keep going , who knows. But it has become an element of my day, every day. It's a shame that I haven't compiled photo year books of my entries. I could go back and start them but the task seems to be too daunting.

Lastly a big thanks to the Blip team who keep the site going. Yes, there is FB and Insta plus Flickr. But for me Blip is the best for setting down my diary.

Wow, I didn't think I  was going to write all that. Sorry to have taken up your weekend quality time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.