New bird feeder

Here is the new bird feeder that I bought in LIDL on Thursday. I have positioned it so that I can a watch the bird (and possibly squirrel) action from my bedroom window.

I've hardly had a moment to myself today. I caught up on some (but not all) household admin, popped up to Real Foods and down to the picture framer, then prepared for the arrival of three guests: our niece Beth, and friends Bruce and Elly.

Much of the prep was focused on making supper for one vegan (Bruce) and four non-vegans. Our meal began with drinks in the sitting room with a take on bruschetta (on crackers rather than bread, with feta cheese for the non-vegans). At the dinner table in the kitchen I served everyone the same main course of roast gnocchi, mushrooms and squash with herbs and homemade pesto. For pudding I created a concoction for Bruce from vegan ice cream and blueberries, and made a bramble crumble for the rest of us.

After dinner we played Catan. Bruce, to his utter surprise, was the victor.

Beth is staying with us for a few days so that she can make the recordings for her part of Lorna Lloyd in the podcast series that Bruce and I (and some others at work) are putting together. There's more information on the progress of the project in the journal LornaLPodcast.

Exercise today: walking (10,000+ steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.