Time for coffee

Today was very busy at work and, as a result, I missed my Thai Chi class. I’m a bit disappointed in myself because I was hoping that, this term, I could make the full run of classes. Sadly I didn’t.  As today was full of work-relating things I starting wondering what I could photograph for my daily entry.  Then I realised that I have been using this mug for the last two years as one of a number on rotation for my morning coffee.  It’s a souvenir from the mid-80s West End Show: Time (The Musical).  

A little look at Wikipedia tells me the show ran for about 2 years at the Dominion Theatre (which had to be remodelled a little bit to accommodate the set).  As a child I remember going to the show but mainly for the huge floating head of the narrator named Akash (pre-recorded by Laurence Olivier).  I think Cliff Richard was in it when we went to see it but that might just be a trick of the memory.

I haven’t heard the music for years and the only piece I can vaguely recall is a single featuring the words spoken by Laurence Olivier and a song called Time by Freddie Mercury. Apparently the music was never released on CD (because in the mid-80s we were just getting our first CD players) and I don’t have the vinyl. I think there’s an iTunes recording of the concept album from the 25th anniversary but that seemed quite expensive. I think it’s a bit sad that the music isn’t able to live on as much as it might because it locked away and I wonder If anybody has an actual cast recording rather than the concept album.

Cliff Richard reportedly said, "It was like no theatre I had seen before, and I am sure that it was true for most of the audience. They (the sets) were incredibly high-tec and drew gasps and applause night after night".

All I have to remember it, is this mug.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.