Pittenweem Priory

This is the fortified East gatehouse of the priory, which was built in the 13 century. It was originally a Benedictine community which had moved from the Isle of May, it was then placed under the control of the Augustinian canons regular of St Andrews priory. The Great House and some other buildings are still in use today as private residences.

Today started earlier than usual for me as my car was due at the garage in Anstruther for repair at 8am. So, we duly dropped it off and walked home along the core path. We never walk beside main roads, no matter how good the pavement. I can do happily without the pollution. On our way I heard the first skylarks this year. A heart-warming and step-lightening sound.

When we got home I had time for a cuppa and a meditation before Maggie arrived. Earlier than usual this week because instead of going to nursery this morning she had jags at the health centre.
And it has been non-stop ever since. Her mum was sent packing because Maggie said we were to make smoothies and she was to go! So, the smoothies got made, thenTiddlywinks, dominoes and and snap were all played before lunchtime.
In the afternoon I hoped that a sleep might be in order, but no chance of that. We did jigsaws, watched Cocomelon and Frozen, unpacked and put away all the loo rolls, oat milk and muesli that Amazon delivered, and even wrapped up warm and played in the garden with Geordie. I was relieved when it came time to make tea. Tea and bath done and Maggie was still full of beans. She gets to stay up later here because I don’t like early rises. By 7.30 she and Geordie were sound and I was reading Snow White to myself.
A full and satisfying day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.