Eagles Before Breakfast

A morning arrived
with the promise of some sun.
I dare not waste it! 

~ carliewired

I was sipping my coffee and waiting for the sun to appear about 7:30 AM. It was already 2 C without any wind. I got out on my deck for this wide angle shot. Not a spectular sunrise at all, but so encouraging to know we're in for some sun, if only for the morning. 

I left the house at 8:30 in sunshine to go in search of eagles. I took the turn at the end of the bridge for Mission Flats. The sky was already a dazzling blue and I knew the river would match that. I parked beside the Thompson River where I can see across to the airport control tower. There were several eagles lined up on an ice shelf watching the river carefully. On my side of the river, I spied a solitary eagle up on a tree branch. He was watching the proceedings on the river, too. He launched off this perch making his mournful call, then landed in a far tree with two others. I walked up closer to get my shot of the threesome. I might have stayed longer, but I was getting hungry. I drove off to get my drive-thru breakfast, then headed straight home. 

I'm expecting a quiet day to myself at home. I'd like a pan full of meatballs with onion gravy. 

Our forecast offers a high of 7 C today with a chance of showers this afternoon. It seems we're moving away from snow flurries and that makes me very happy!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.