Riverside Before 9

The sun poured into
my house before 8, urging
me to get outside

~ carliewired

We did get some rain after dark last night. It wet the deck but didn't amount to much. The temperature remained above freezing overnight. 

I was up wandering in the wee hours but managed to curl up in my chair for another round of sleep before sunrise. I woke up suddenly at 7:45 as the sun filled my living room with light. That was my cue to get out the door. 

I drove down my hill to discover a house fire in progress below me and to the north. The lookers were gathering and I had to pull over twice to allow the fire department to whizz by me. By the time I got to the approach to the Overlander Bridge, an ambulance was also on its way. 

I parked near the railway bridge in Riverside Park and took a short walk east on the Rivers Trail. I got a shot of the railway bridge from the sunny side, then walked back towards the park to check on the birds. There were only a few ducks on the foreshore this morning. No trumpeters or Canada geese were to be seen on the river. 

I drove over to the parking lot in front of Heritage House so I could get a look at the construction/renovation project in the park. There appeared to be many empty pickups parked, many workers on the site and a digger moving dirt around. I wasn't able to determine any progress but it was encouraging to see so much activity. I got a couple of shots of my mountains and the pier through the construction fence. I am missing access while the walkway is all torn up and cordoned off. 

As I walked back to my truck, I found two Canada geese perched on top of the old fountain near the river. This fountain has not functioned as a water feature for all the years of my memory. It's long been repurposed as a three tiered planter. It seemed a bit odd to see geese 20 feet above the park. They made me think of olympians receiving their medals. 

I'm home today just puttering around. The meatballs were delicious last night. I think it will be salmon tonight. 

It's to be a mix of sun and cloud today with a high of 8 C. Snow is quickly turning into puddles and mud. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.