Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Pooped pup

Other than his usual morning nap, Jax has been hell-on-wheels all afternoon. I took him for a mile and a half walk on the Lane, the first half of which was miserable with him pulling like crazy. Finally he settled down and we enjoyed the rest of the walk. But instead of napping when we came in, he wanted to play.

So we played fetch and tug and then I took him out again. Put him on the 30 foot lead and threw a ball for him to chase in the snow which he loved. Except inevitably, he’d get distracted by something and leave the ball meaning that I had to trudge through the snow to retrieve it. But I persevered. Figuring I’d finally worn him out, we came back in. Wrong. Now he was intent on tormenting the cats. Then he started zooming. And at that point I realized he was over-tired. So I threw a toy into his crate and when he ran in after it, I shut the door and gave him a dental chew.

And damned if he didn’t lay down and quietly chew his bone before having a snooze. This is the only time he’s ever been in his crate without barking like he’s being killed. Finally let him out of the crate and he had a nap on the chair (here) before stretching out in front of the fire.

In between all the puppy shenanigans, I did manage to get some housework and laundry done but that’s about all I have to show for my day.

I’m planning on having a square of Ugandan dark with orange later. And then a glass of wine, maybe two...

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.