Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Out and About

About 3 weeks ago I noticed a squirrel at our feeders who had visible teats, meaning that she was nursing young in a nest somewhere.  And about a week later, I saw 4 young squirrels cavorting around one of the trees in our woods, a tree that reliably has squirrel nests every year.  They've all been staying in the woods, probably wise with the foxes around, but I was able to get some reasonable shots of this youngster eating a hickory nut up in one of the trees.  A chipmunk was also spotted zooming into the woods, probably unlucky in love.  Soon we will need to be on the lookout for bears, too.

I took Jax to the park today for a mile walk.  We only saw one dog and Jax became instantly deaf to all my commands.  I have my new 2Hounds harness now, so I was able to keep him on the ground a bit easier.  We also passed about a half dozen people and each time I was able to get him to sit and stay, so that was a win.  His tugging was slightly better but it's still giving me a sufficient upper body workout.

Today was my Dad's birthday so we had a nice long FT this morning.  Not the same as a hug but better than a phone call.  I want to get out there as soon as the Omicron numbers in that area come down a bit more.  I feel like if I wait around, we'll be engulfed in another wave.  And now that we are able to get reliable home test kits, I can don't have to be as concerned about bringing something with me when I travel.  I actually took a home test this morning because I was feeling scratchy throated and coughing.  Negative on the test and the symptoms are gone now so I think it was just some sort of morning sinusy thing.

Jax spent two hours crammed into one of the cat beds yesterday afternoon - it was hilarious to watch him try to keep himself in a bed that was clearly too small.  I'll pop a picture in Extra.  Later in the evening when we were sitting down to watch TV, Charlie hopped up to lay down in the bed, smelled it, and immediately jumped down.  Puppy Cooties, I guess.  

Jax is down to just one bed now, the one he sleeps on next to our bed at night.  He's destroyed two others and I gave one to the cats so they could have a big poofy bed - they love it.  The pup also has a bunch of small fleece blankets but he has now decided that they are fun to chew so their numbers are dwindling.  Fortunately, they are cheap at $5 each so I can replace them as needed.  Little shit.

Dark with ginger today.  And a glass of something red tonight.  I've tasked Hubs with taking Jax for his vet appointment this evening so I expect Hubs will be ready for a glass of something red too when he gets home.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.