Achieving balance

I went to Western Springs lake for the first time in some months. Not the ideal time of day to see all the birdlife. Neverheless it was pleasing to be back and seeing more closely than i have recently a broader range of birds.

The blip for today is of a Little shag (Kawau paka). It is not possible to see the white front of the Kawau Paka, but I did see that when I came around the corner of the path beside the lake and had my first sight of the bird. It then started hopping upwards from branch to branch having turned its back on me. On each branch, it used its outstretched wings to maintain balance.

While writing this I have started doubting my identification. However, I do recall seeing the white front, the bill is shorter than that of the Kawau tui (Little black shag), and this has a short bill. The top of the upper mandible of the bill is black, although the rest of the bill is yellow,nuthatch cannot be seen. The tail is longer. A bronze back is seen in the alternate plumage of the Kawau tui. However, the variability shown here suggests an immature Kawau paka.

I have added as an extra, a photo of a black swan (Wana). Abundant before Maori arrived in New Zealand, their numbers fell until in 1864, they were reintroduced from Australia, and are now well established again. The pose, reflection and light convey a true sense of elegance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.