Black and white night

Back blipped Wednesday 16th for Monday 14th

Happy Valentine’s Day
Slept well last night despite the huge swell. We didn’t leave Southampton till 11 due to the forecast bad weather so we’re running a bit behind. I’m a pretty good sailor but there were a few green looking faces at mealtimes and a noticeable number of empty tables by dinner time.

Lots to do on board today apart from exploring our new home. Mr PHL attended a watercolour class whilst I joined a lecture on military music, some fascinating insights and the speaker was very engaging. In the afternoon I went to the hobby group in the lounge at the front of the shop - great views (see extra) but it was a little queasy inducing trying to knit and talk whilst we were being bounced around and I ended up leaving early, well I did have to get to bingo at the other end of the ship. I took a ginger ale to settle my stomach a bit and was glad I’d made the effort to go along as I won the second game with a prize pot of $45. Just a shame for me that there were 2 other winners!

Headed back to the cabin for a nap and felt much restored by an hour long sleep.

Got ourselves all gussied up for black and white night and asked a very nice man to take our picture as the official photos are pretty expensive. Dinner was lovely and came with a complimentary glass of sparkling wine.

The theatre show should have been a musical themed evening but due to bad weather was swapped with Mick Miller, an old school Liverpudlian comedian. Mr PHL was familiar with his work having seen him on the tv show Ideal but I wasn’t. He had me in stitches the whole show though there were some of the audience was took a wee while to warm up.
A good first day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.