New life on the balcony

Yep, narcissi. Some crocuses are out. Pleased to see the results of our bulb planting in the autumn. And various sedums are throwing out new growth. And finally, one day soon, the flowers on the camellia will finally come out (having been hanging around as buds for eons).

I went out on balcony for a happy 20 minutes or so this morning sorting things out and cutting back a few bits and pieces, and was pleased with my handiwork. Oh, I thought, spring is coming. And yes, it wasn’t cold and the sun on the living room window was warm and persuaded the oxalis, which is now out of its winter hibernation in Mr A’s room, to start doing its bit.

I spoke too early of course, as the rain and wind rushed in around 3pm and put paid to some idea of taking a walk and fetching some milk after my last meeting had finished, and before dinner.

Did I say my last meeting? I had a blissful day of only one meeting (and it was quite funky), so it was my first and my last meeting, and before that I had the opportunity to make good progress with updating some documents.

After dinner we watched The Father. I think Mr A found the shifting confusion of the scenes in the middle of the film all too bewildering. My point is that this reflects the breakdown in Anthony’s mind. It made me wonder about the disintegration of the human mind. I thought it was a brave film to make, and a braver one to act if you are, yourself, reaching the age when many people suffer from dementia. It was many respects, and not just the use of his own name and own birth date, cutting close to the core.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.