FRONT STREET, SWALWELL

I was on puppy sitting duties today.  I wasn't looking forward to leaving the house as the weather was terrible.  Heavy rain and gale force wind.  I caught the bus near my house - no shelter at the stop so I was soaked before I even got on the bus. 

When I got to Swalwell I popped into Lidl - its about a half a mile from the bus stop.so I got more soaked.  Got far too much shopping and ended up with a very heavy bag to carry.  At least it stopped me getting blown away by the wind.

Before heading to Neils I quickly took my blip shot.  This row of buildings is opposite Lidl. Its my entry for the Wide Wednesday Challenge.The theme is  " A local place".  Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.

The building with the black bay windows was originally The Angel Inn - a 17th century coaching inn on the route to Hexham. Built in 1640 it is the oldest building in Swalwell and has no foundations. The building on the left - The Highlander pub - was originally the stables of The Angel and opened as a pub in 1928.  The first floor of The Angel was used as a surgery in 1900 and the building was at one time the village Post Office.  When I lived in Swalwell in the 80's The Angel was an Antique shop and B&B. Since then it has been a property management company but at the moment it looks unoccupied.  The Highlander Pub is going strong and is very popular.

I got wetter as I walked to Neils and was glad to get indoors.  Luna was pleased to see me and we had a good time playing.  She had a few mischievous moments.  Some greetings cards which were within her reach were a target - until I moved them to a higher position.  When I left after 2 ½ hrs she was ready to go into her crate for a sleep.  She wouldn't be alone for long as Rachael was due home in around an hour.

To get home without having to walk too far in the rain I got a bus to the Metrocentre and then another bus home. 

The wind is really wild this evening. Storm Dudley has definitely arrived.  Hope it doesn't do any damage.   Stay safe if you are in an affected area.

Steps today - 7,410

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.