Journey Through Time

By Sue

Wood Duck at the Refuge

The decision has been made and I'm going with the Wood Duck because...well...look at this magnificently decked out duck. I mean he is just marvelous. This is the most interesting looking duck we have ever seen at the Refuge. A peacock among ducks. He has his foot up because he is going to take a little nap, I think. Or as Debbi suggests, he is in a yoga pose. Wood ducks love their yoga, I've been told.

But on my Flicker page you can see a few other things, among them a juvenal eagle. It was in a tree beside the road but he was on the far side of the tree, and not in the best spot for photo taking, but I think they came out pretty good considering the angle at which I had to take these photos. I almost put the eagle up, because...well, it's an eagle... but..the colorful duck begged to be shown off today.

It was overcast and the lighting wasn't very good today at the Refuge, but that's the way it goes. I was grateful to be able to go and see what was going on. We did witness two large birds doing an aerial battle and I think an eagle and a vulture were duking it out. They looked to be different kinds of birds. Check out the photo and see what you think. That photo is after the heron and the cinnamon teals., and before all the eagle shots. They were pretty far away and I cropped it...so it's a terrible photo...But it still tells a story, I think.

Anyway...I guess most of my subscribers might know who Annette Funicello was. I'm sorry for her death but glad she is free from the awful illness that robbed her of so much. I wrote a fan letter to her when I was about 13 or so, and I did get back a studio photo of her. I still have it. My one and only fan letter I ever sent out. All together now.....M-I-C-K-E-Y.......M-O-U-S-E. Also for those who know...Cubby O'Brien moved to the north of Vancouver in Yacolt, Washington. He was the cutest darn kid.

Enough going down memory lane. Catch ya later, Mousketeers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.