Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Beautiful armpit!

I think if I had an armpit (wingpit?) as beautiful as this, I'd show it off too!

This is the male sparrowhawk in the reserve this morning.  As you can see, after last night's brush with Storm Dudley we had a beautiful awakening, and I caught Mr S Hawk high up in an alder tree busily bouncing on some twigs to break them off for the nest.  (Bouncing requires wing-power - don't ask me why).

After which, it was up to the butterfly reserve on Morn Hill, rather hoping I might catch an early opening cowslip, but was disappointed.  I'm a tad worried because the cattle are still up there on exactly the area the skylarks are wanting to nest in.  And so many of them.  I tried to get a decent shot but it's only the best of a bad lot in Extras, I'm afraid.

Also seen were the kites and a kestrel, which was fun.

Okay, that's me.  Storm Eunice tonight.  We're not in such a bad area for it, but they're saying it'll be the worst one the UK's had for 60(?) years.  Stay safe, dear blipfolk xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.