Monochrome bathroom

I am away overnight on business for the first time in two and a half years. (The last time was a secret mission to Sheffield on 27th June 2019, not made explicit in my blip for that date.)

My train journey to Manchester today was lovely, especially since the guard upgraded me to first class on the first stretch of the route from Edinburgh to Preston. I also love my overnight accommodation, including the monochrome bathroom in my hotel room, with its very deep bath.

The Foxes met me off the train at Manchester Piccadilly, and then the three of us took our time over a leisurely lunch at the Pen and Pencil. We marked our meeting with a selfie next to one of the huge Manchester city murals (extra).

For the rest of the afternoon I worked in my hotel room. Then, at 18:15, I headed downstairs to the lobby to meet my colleagues to go out for drinks and dinner at the Midland Hotel. It has been very exciting to see everyone in person - some for the first time ever - after all the mega online conference calls of the past two years. One person was rather surprised at my height - she thought I would be taller - and a couple exclaimed at the length of my hair. I was also surprised at the height (or lack of it) of a couple of people (but not by anyone's hair style).

Before today I had feared that some might drink a little too much this evening, such would be the relief at finally seeing one another in the flesh. However, everyone was very well behaved and we all enjoyed a very civilised and congenial dinner.

Exercise today: walking (11,695 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.