Cornus mas

We were promised snow and we got a little, but it didn’t last.  I was a little disappointed as I was looking forward to a snow day.  However, the weather was pretty awful – we had it all wind, rain, sleet, snow, sun.  A god day to stay indoors.  We were supposed to be going to Melrose as BB was due to play rugby there, however they sent out a cancellation email yesterday due to the weather forecast.  Just as well as I read this morning that the A68 was closed, so we wouldn’t have made it.  BB was disappointed, but knows there is not much we can do about the weather.  He made the most of it and mostly had a pyjama day.  I offered to take him out for lunch, but he declined in favour of a takeaway from our regular Friday lunch spot. 
 
After a morning of pottering, chores, a little bit of jigsaw and deciding on my next book, I eventually braved the elements and headed out for lunch.  I was lucky and timed it quite well and even fitted in a quick walk to the river.  The weather took a real turn for the worse just as I got home, so after lunch I baked a madeira cake and made some biscuits.  In between I was doing a few more chores and at one point I sat down with my new book and forgot what I was meant to be doing.    We had an easy tea courtesy of M&S.
 
Later BB and I watched some TV and TT had his regular Friday Zoom call.  A nice chilled out day for BB and me – less so for TT.
 
The flowers on this tree – cornus mas, brightened things up on such a dreich day.  I also spotted some blossom, including the lonely flower in the extra.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.