Lindisfarne Castle

What a contrast to yesterday.  We awoke to blue sky and sunshine.  The day looked lovely, so I psyched myself to go out for a run.  What I didn’t bargain for, was the icy conditions underfoot which were quite treacherous in places.  I was careful, hugging close into the verge.  It was a glorious morning to be out for a run, so bright and clear, with snow on the hills and only a slight breeze.  While I was running I realised that I needed a birthday card for an eight year old and wasn’t sure I had one.  I remembered that I had a card with a dog on the front – and the eight year old would love a dog – so I found it when I got home, and managed to get it in the post box on  time. 
 
After a few chores, we had to get ready to head down to the Borders to meet up with a couple of friends for lunch.  It was such a beautiful drive and so clear.  We passed a car which had gone off the road – in the middle of a roundabout! We arrived at our destination at the same time as our friends and had a delicious meal to celebrate A’s birthday which was actually about ten days ago.  I’m not normally a pudding person, but I was tempted and had the most fabulous dessert, and all in all ate far too much – just as well I went for a run this morning.  We then headed to Ross Sands to walk off our lunches.  Unfortunately the tide was very high so we didn’t walk very far, and as it was getting late  the light was starting to fade.  We haven’t been there before but will go back sometime for a proper walk.
 
On the way home BB was asking what was for tea!  We stopped off and bought him a pizza.  We were all a little weary when we got home and it wasn’t long before BB was looking for pizza.  The boys watched an Indiana Jones movie, then The Book Thief.  I delighted in getting wordle in three today – pure luck!
 
Ross Sands is between two castles.  Bamburgh, which we visited fairly recently, and Lindisfarne on Holy Island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.