Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Lost a shoe

The hunt is part of country life in this area, causing strong feelings on both sides of the debate. Today's hunt would have been a drag or trail hunt, where there is a pre-laid trail and the hounds follow the scent. It's controversial because there have been reports of such events ending with the killing of a fox. I would not be sorry to see the practice ended.

I was busy at home all morning, but the weather was so lovely, that I had to go for a walk. You could hardly tell that we had two storms this week. I went from home and did a short circuit around Lincoln Hill, Chesters and back. This quintet of riders were proceeding home quite slowly. The horse in the rear has lost a shoe (left front hoof) so could not be ridden. Looking at the muddy marks, I think he may have unseated his rider at some point.

I met a couple from Nottinghamshire who are staying for a week. They are keen walkers so I handed out a Walking Festival card. You never know!

London is approaching very quickly now, so I have to sort out a few things tomorrow. Very exciting, but not it the weather is going to be dire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.