Old gardeners never die, they just go to seed

The day started off well, but it's been getting worse as time has gone on. By 4pm the sleet was gusting in sheets and we have a yellow wind warning. We'll see - it comes and goes. So far, after both Dudley and Eunice, all I've suffered here is two two empty 5" plastic flowerpots blown along the deck! See - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2941393607447282469 Sorry to hear that others have suffered a great deal more.

My Blip today is of a few seed capsules of Bomarea edulis. I've Blipped this in flower a couple of times - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2877976799688523827 - and I thought the seed capsules were too late to ripen, but I brought them indoors and they're now beginning to open. 

This Mexican plant has proved hardy in pots out on the deck here - it's supposedly hardy down to -5°C. It would also make a good climber for a conservatory - and the tubers are edible too, though I've not tried them. Rather an expensive dinner. 

I know I've promised pieces of tuber to a couple of Blippers but maybe seeds would be another alternative. Let me know folks if you want any! Google the plant and see what you think.

Quote of the Day: “I'm really quite simple. I plant flowers and watch them grow... I stay at home and watch the river flow.”
- George Harrison.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.