A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Dear Deer

When stepping outside to fill bird feeders I noticed three deer crossing the road. One at a time leaping the snow bank then moving single file up their packed trail over the hill • I returned inside to grab the camera hoping they would still be visible. Two had already disappeared but the third lagged behind. When he heard the door close he turned to watch me as I positioned myself in the driveway. As I pointed my lens his way he remained perfectly still, calmly observing me, while I simultaneously watched him. There was a familiarity in our brief encounter. A connection, really • Blipzen, is that you? • The lone dear deer then turned away realizing the others had left him. His full white tail gave a wave before he bounded up the trail to pursue his companions • Freezing rain on the way later today, along with some homemade banana blueberry muffins :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.