A Splash of Colour

...On a Very Grey Day 

I didn't think the days could get more dull and dreary, but, alas, it seems they can. I woke up to yet another gloomy wet morning, this time with the promise of freezing rain in the afternoon.. Geez...could it get any worse? Well, yes it could, as I have noted in recent blip journals from the UK..it could be a LOT worse! Storm after storm, flooding and trees knocked down?...that would be worse. 

But, how to make the best of this dull day? I remembered the other exhibit they were setting up at our local art gallery when I was down there last week..I had caught a glimpse of some rather vibrant colour when I had peeked into the exhibit room ...hmmm..it had looked ever so promising...just what I needed today!  Some colour...

The exhibit, titled "They Didn't Know We Were Seeds" turned out to be a really interesting one..It featured cut-paper silhouettes displayed both as stand-alone pieces, and as dramatic components of brilliantly coloured mixed media panels (extras). It was the perfect time for it too..as this is Black History month...

There was not much, though, in the way of an explanation of the works or the background of Cheryl Rock, the artist. I am not sure why, as usually there is....On my way out, I did find a very short brochure in which she writes:

Each piece represents an opportunity to share my reflections on heritage, the experiences I have gained through working with Black youth, and my journey towards more holistic well-being. This collection also represents my growing understanding of the experiences and gifts of my ancestors who have endured suffering, turmoil and tyranny. Despite generational trauma, through pride and industry, we continue to rise!

I loved the exhibit, but left wanting to know more about both the artist and her works.... and wondering why there was not more offered.. Perhaps they will have an official opening where that will be discussed...I will keep an eye out for that...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.