Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Where's The Suet?

(back blip #6)

This catches me up. Yay!
It's my last day in Madera Canyon and my stay in a casita (Spanish for cottage) at the Santa Rita Lodge.  Since it's winter, there's a smaller variety of birds hanging around. I skipped a few that I saw, like Acorn and Arizona woodpeckers. They always seemed to be just out of range of my lens. Next trip I'm packing my 100-400 mm and a tripod.

They've put a coffee stand in the shop and it's really busy. I don't like anything in my coffee (it's not coffee unless it's black!) so I'm not tempted like the throngs who come up for the day.

I still don't understand how anyone can be a birdwatcher. Not sure if I could ever be happy seeing some cool bird, ticking it off on a list and then not having a picture of it to share.

Here's a list of my back blips. I personally think they're pretty good and it would be awesome if you'd let me know what you think.  (Each has a a joke, too!) They look fab in large.  I'm proud of this batch.  Thanks.

Surprise! It's Snowing! (collage)
One Day After The Snow, a Yellow-eyed junco!
Three Days Later, a shivering Jay
Painted Redstart which I don't remember ever blipping.

While enjoying an early morning breakfast in a northern Arizona cafe, four elderly ranchers were discussing everything from cattle, horses, and weather, to how things used to be in the “good old days.”

Eventually the conversation moved on to their spouses. One gentleman turned to the fellow on his right and asked,“Roy, aren’t you and your bride celebrating your fiftieth wedding anniversary soon?”

“Yup, we sure are,” Roy replied.

“Well, are you gonna do anything special to celebrate?” another man asked.

The old gentleman pondered this for a moment, then replied, “For our twenty-fifth anniversary,I took Bea to Tucson. Maybe for our fiftieth, I’ll go down there and get her.”

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.