Capital adventures

By marchmont

Tram is a 4:letter word

I swam for 60 minutes this morning.  Felt really good.  It was wet and windy outside much of the day.  The water butt is filling up nicely.

Ticked a few things off the list today: tidying, ironing, putting past clothes and 3 calls to HMRC re my online account.  The IT desk works to a scrip which is not that helpful, nor is being told 'if you don't give me the right answer to this question I won't be able to help you'.  The question was 'what is the name on the account'.  With the combination of a strong W. Indian accent and a dodgy phone line I heard 'what is the name of the account'.  Took a few goes before the penny dropped.  However, I have now successfully submitted the required PAYE nil returns and reactivated the Authenticator app. Started, but not finished the Corp Tax return.

This afternoon was spent chairing the P&R Committee.  There wasn't a lot of good news there.  Mirrors the rest of the world. Are we repeating the Cuba crisis, which I remember?  I also remember 'Whiter Shade of Pale', the anthem of my teenage years.  Another rocker bites the dust.  None of us are getting any younger.

Then having wrapped up warm I set off to meet C at La Casa.  I last saw her in November 2019.  Another casualty of the pandemic.  It took ages to get there.  The disruption to Leith Walk has multiplied since I was last there at the end of last year.  La Casa was very quiet, possibly because the its side of the Walk was completely shut off.  They almost had to throw us out, just before 10.  It only took 20  minutes to get back up the road, half the time if took to get there, no diversions.  I got on the bus at 22.02 on 22.02.22 and got off at 22.22 on 22.02.22.  Too many 2's. 

Good news from the FM this afternoon.  We do need to move on and some of the regs are now nonsensical and confusing and take no account of actual risk.  Not sure about the reduction in  access to testing.  Though as a woman said on a phone in we don't test or get so worked up about other transmissable diseases. And you now you can only order tests online every 3 days, not one  day.  Mmm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.