SHIBDON POND

I was on Luna duty today so I got the bus to Swalwell.  Instead of going straight to Neils I had a wander to Shibdon Pond first as its not far away ... and I needed a blip shot for the Wide Wednesday challenge - the theme is " Body Of Water - thanks to RockArea for hosting..

I had to walk across a lot of grass to get to the edge of the pond and it was very soggy after all the rain we had recently. The wind was really strong and almost blew me off my feet a few times.  It was a bit calmer by the waters edge.  I had taken some food for the birds so I started throwing it on the water ( its special food that floats on the surface and doesn't sink )  Quite a few Canada Geese tuned up to feed.  There were swans and ducks on the pond too but they were already being fed by a Mam and 2 children further along.   I have added a couple more photos as an Extra - another view of the Pond and one of the Canada Geese.

Info  - Shibdon Pond is one of the few large open water bodies left in the southern part of Tyne and Wear and is one of the best wetlands in the region for wintering wildfowl. The pond is spring fed and fringed with rich aquatic flora, willow and hawthorn scrub and damp grassland.

When I got to Neils Luna was pleased to see me.  I had brought her a new toy so she played with that for ages. She was quite well behaved but had a few naughty moments... such as when she decided to grab one of the curtains and pull on it.  She wouldn't let go and I had visions of the curtain rail coming off.  In the end I managed to distract her and she dropped the curtain.  I tucked it up on to the windowsill after that. You need your wits about you when looking after a puppy. I have added an Extra of Luna with her new toy.

I was at Neils for around 2 hrs.  Then I walked to Lidl.  Poundstretcher is near Lidl and when I was passing I noticed a sign saying everything in the shop was half price.  Well I couldn't resist popping in.  Didn't buy too much as I knew I would be getting a lot of heavy stuff in Lidl but I did spend £12 --- but only paid £6. The shop was strangely empty. Its a large shop and there were only 2 other customers.   After shopping in Lidl I got a bus to the Metrocentre and then a bus home.  Only a short wait between buses today.

Steps today - 10,795

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.