The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The curious case of the stretch covers

I'm not sure why they have these winged chairs with retro stretch covers at Costa.They are available in blue, too. Is it because they are easily washable and that's a good thing during a pandemic? I admit to not liking them and very seldom choosing to sit in one. I am glad, however, that our Costa in the High Street seems to be open slightly more often than it was, say, a month ago. Maybe the CoVid really is passing out of our lives, until the next variant comes along.

Now there's the Russian invasion of Ukraine. Dreadful.I've been avoiding the News. I feel powerless, but not as powerless as the people of Ukraine. Words aren't enough.

Work today. Challenging. I was with a very active boy that I used to know in another setting. He was happy in the morning, and kept me running around for two hours. After lunch he became fed up and his behaviour altered. Eventually we had to phone home and have someone pick him up. This situation is fairly typical when we have a new child, especially a younger one, who hasn't been to holiday club before. It was lovely to spend the with him again, even though he couldn't stay for the whole day. After that I had to do some more co-supporting an individual, then some cleaning, then an hour in the Wii games room. I found this part the most challenging because I can't play Wii sports and had very little input.

Afterwards I was dropped off in Stroud and went to a charity shop, and The Works, before settling into a seat in Costa and catching up on some Mirthy talks via my phone and headphones. From Costa I can see into the Shambles market, so I could see when Steve arrived. I helped him unload the car, then we set up our stalls for tomorrow. Back home, I cooked supper and listened to more Mirthy talks on the laptop. By 7.30pm, all was done. Only eleven hours on the go, with the fortunately-timed 90-minute interlude in Stroud. I shall sleep well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.