The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Under the gallows tree

No, not really. It's just an unfortunate-looking electricity mast that can be seen from my mother's window. It's got wires springing out from it. Song: https://open.spotify.com/track/1XLEOj0THzHSf8CmZsHS3y?si=zEGCwmnlSiyid1_B3teuOA

Today being my first day in ages alone with my mother, who has dementia, we didn't go far. I encouraged her to attend a Zoom class with me on Russian poetry! Yes, I know. She said she couldn't follow all of it, but it was 'human'.

The sun shone, we met the carer, I, who is very chatty, and I met the diabetic nurse and the warden too. I located the guest room upstairs and moved my suitcase. My nephew called round to wash his hair. It's very long, so I instructed him on the art of grooming. I've promised to send him a detangle comb and a bottle of conditioner with a masculine brand name for his 21st.

We couldn't go out for long, because an engineer from Telecare was expected. Predictably perhaps, he never showed up. A trip to the shop opposite was all that we managed.

Mother began to ruminate obsessively about something that was bothering her (I forget what now, I'm writing this a week later) so I got her doing chair-based yoga stretch exercises on Zoom. Just as we were getting somewhere more calm, my sister and her youngest child marched in! To be fair, they did offer to leave, but I said no, let's have tea, so they stayed, and afterwards mother and I watched a wildlife programme (because these programmes are calm, usually) and eventually I got her to bed, with some assistance.

It's been a steep learning curve. At least I have a rather cold room upstairs, a quiet retreat. People to talk to at the other end of the phone, thank goodness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.