The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Inside-outside upside down at Ardlui

12 hours door to door. Cheltenham to Birmingham, Birmingham to Edinburgh Waverley (wrong train), Waverley to Glasgow QS Glasgow QS to Connel Ferry. Not the route I'd planned. Arrived at least two hours later than planned.
Lots of lifting GG's luggage on and off trains...to be fair, I'd warned her that I wouldn't be carrying her luggage, as of have my own, so she'd brought a smaller case, but it was heavy.

Next time I'll fly. The unexpected track inspection at Bristol this morning really messed up our whole day.

Still, I'm here now. Mother is asleep in bed so I haven't seen her yet. It's as hot as hell in the flat. I haven't been here before, it's a recent move, and the flat is lovely, and full of my mother's things, yet not at like anywhere she's ever lived before. She has to have signs on the room doors now, to remind her what's where.

I am grateful to be here, though. In a minute I'll get into my bedclothes, have another cup of tea, and settle down to watch iPlayer on my laptop, as the TV remote control has disappeared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.