The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Knife Angel, Gloucester Cathedral Green

#GloucesterKnifeAngel

I had a rare day off, so took the bus to Gloucester to see the Knife Angel at Gloucester Cathedral Green. From the accompanying leaflet:

The Knife Angel is a stunning 27ft tall, 3 5 ton sculpture made out of 100,000 confiscated knives received from 43 police forces across the UK. Originating from the British Ironwork Centre in Oswestry and created by sculptor Alfie Bradley, it took over two years to construct. The Angel has been on tour around the UK and has become a national monument against violence and aggression in all its forms...

It's here in Gloucester to act as a catalyst to turn the tide on violent and aggressive behaviour, and as a beautiful memorial for the lives lost to knife crime....

There will be a WEAPONS AMNESTY during the 28 days the Knife Angel is in Gloucester, 1st February to 27th February 2023.


************************************************************

Half term in Gloucester, so the exhibition was busy. I liked hearing the parents explain to their children.

"Wow,10,000 knives!" said one boy. " They must have had to buy loads of knives to give to the police".

I found the exhibit moving. Tears sprang to my eyes. I wasn't so sure about the 'Christmas lights' on it, but the constant change of colour was interesting. There's also a son et lumiere exhibit on the same theme, created by young people, in the Lady Chapel inside the cathedral.

Afterwards I visited the Tailor of Gloucester (Beatrix Potter) museum in College Court. We used to go there when my nephews were younger. They are 24 and 25 now. I remembered once, when we visited the Cathedral, one of the boys said he wanted light a candle for his great-aunt. She'd been ill, and had died, so we told him that great-aunt J (GAJ) was in heaven now, and suggested that he light a candle for another person in need.

Up piped nephew no.1: "I'll light a candle for the Tailor of Gloucester"

Nephew no 2: "And I'll light one for Simpkin, his cat".


The remainder of the day, after I got home, was spent packing. I'm off to the West Highlands  by train tomorrow to see our mother. Today is also the day in which she was finally diagnosed as having dementia (vascular, I think) and deemed as lacking capacity to make decisions. It's a day we've been waiting for, for around two years, but now that it's here, there's no reason at all to celebrate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.