A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

A Boatload of Soap

Here's a look at what 75 pounds of soap looks like. Giant 25 lb blocks of soap. Imagine how long one of these puppies would last in your shower.

Today is my mom and dad's anniversary. They're no longer with us but I would like to think of them dancing and holding each other tight as they celebrate their love together forever. They had a tumultuous relationship. They argued and sometimes my mom would call me in tears over the arguments. Once, after she was diagnosed terminal, the hospice nurse suggested to my dad that he just sit and hold her hand now, rather than dashing around getting things done. He told her we don't have that kind of relationship. The next day he stopped what he was doing and held her hand for awhile. He hurt bad after she died. It was the only time I ever saw him cry. They were married 49 years when she died. I always thought that was sad -- that they didn't make it to 50. But I'm learning it's not the number of years that count, it's the quality of the moments that matter.

Honesty Disclaimer: I'm not learning. I'm aware that I should be learning the lesson. It's a start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.