A time for everything

By turnx3

Au revoir Florida!

Wednesday
We left our Airbnb about 10.20 this morning to start the long drive home. We had about 7 1/2 hours planned for today, as far as Valdosta Georgia, just across the state line. We were taking a western route through Sarasota to stop by the hotel we stayed in on the way down, where our bikes were stolen, as we realised we had left 2 pairs of trousers hanging in the closet. I think we had been so upset and distracted by the loss of the bikes,, we failed to do our final check that we had everything! I wouldn’t usually put things in the closet just for an overnight, I’d just put things back in the suitcase, and I didn’t even remember doing so! We had called when we realized and they said they would hold them for us. We just stopped for restrooms, a change of driver and some fast food for lunch, and arrived in Valdosta, after a good journey, about 7pm. My blip was taken on the first stretch of the journey, crossing Florida to the west coast, where the road ran parallel to a water channel, which was a haven to birds. Fortunately there were several stopping areas, so I was able to stop and take some pictures for my blip. The bird top right is a boat-tailed grackle, bottom left in the tree is a wood stork and two ibis, and bottom right, a great egret.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.