Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Hare

As we were out for Sunday lunch at noon there wasn't a great deal of time to go very far this morning, so I just went in search of hares locally. Wymondham was only 12 minutes away and  I drove there as slowly as I could manage whilst scanning the fields for signs of life. Unfortunately there wasn't anything. I had a quick wander around the town and then set off back to base. On the way I saw a field with loads of birds so quickly found a place to pull in and tried to see what they were. It was a whole flock of fieldfares, a bird I've not seen for nearly a year. They were some distance away and my big lens was in the boot as I'd been using the smaller one around town so I only managed a record shot(extras) before having to get back for lunch. 
After we got back from the pub, I took a quick drive back to the field, but of course they were nowhere to be found. However, on the way back to the site I pulled in as I thought I might have seen a hare. This time I had both the binoculars and the big lens on the passenger seat so was well prepared. I had to walk back a little to find a gap in the hedge and it was quite a distance away, but at least it was a hare! :) Hurrah! 
I also saw three red legged partridges running across the fairway in front of the apartment (extra). Again, not a great shot as it was quite late in the day and the light was very poor and I probably had the wrong settings too!  But I was happy with my sightings today, our last full day in Norfolk. It's been a good week and we couldn't have asked for better weather for the time of year. Roll on next year as we are back again at the same place.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.