Fisherman

We had to be at rugby for 9am.  I was meant to be taking one of BB’s team mates too, but he called off at the last minute which is never ideal.  I dropped BB and then headed off for a walk with another mum, my friend K.  We vaguely knew where we were going, but weren’t one hundred per cent sure.  However, we managed to complete a circular walk and get back just after the game had kicked off.  It wasn’t good.  The opposition were strong and really dominated the game.  K and I just wanted it to finish, but we had to give our boys credit as they never gave up and played well.  Once done, we had to make a fast getaway as BB and TT were heading into Murrayfield.  My fast getaway was delayed by a man in a Tesla.  Least said about that the better. 
 
Once home, TT had a very quick turnaround, and I was left cleaning up the mud and putting on yet another load of muddy washing.  They got away in good time for their bus into Edinburgh. I had a few things to do, which included picking something up in town.  As the day had brightened up I took a walk around by the river to get to town where I did my errands.  I came home for a  late lunch and kept half an eye on the rugby.  It wasn’t good either.  Later I got myself ready and headed into Edinburgh to meet up with the boys and some friends.  I met them in a local hostelry, where they had one of my favourite gin and tonics waiting on me.  I had to drink it quickly to make sure we got to the restaurant in time.
 
What a lovely evening, with friends we have known forever but haven’t seen for a very long time. We all picked up where we last left off.  We had a lovely meal, but were chatting so much that it was a while before we realised that the service was pretty slow.  The kids flagged before we did, which was just as well as we three had to go and find a bus home, which was easier said than done.  We didn’t have to wait too long in the end, and managed to catch the last express bus.  Once home, BB was scavenging for food, and TT was pouring a whisky.  I on the other hand went straight to bed after a  really lovely day.
 
While on my river I walk I stopped to watch another kingfisher fishing.  I think this one is a male.  The extra is the Waterside, and the second extra is a view of the Edinburgh skyline.  I have only been in Edinburgh a handful of times over the past two years, and now I have just been in three times in three consecutive days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.