Caryatids

“Is it dress down day”, asked BB this morning.  My reply was, “how should I know”, which annoyed him – and so he just asked me the same question again.  A quick look at the school website didn’t help, so he decided to wear his uniform just to be on the safe side.  And yes, it was dress down day, and he was one of the very few in his school uniform!  Once he was off to school, I did a few quick chores, while continuing  to listen to the unfolding of events in Ukraine.  There are no words, it is just so awful.  By mid-morning I was heading down to catch the bus into Edinburgh as I had an appointment for a haircut.  I had a little bit of time to kill once I got there, so had a brief look in a couple of shops.  I almost dozed off at the hairdresser when I was under the heated lamps.  I didn’t though, but spent the rest of my appointment yawning.  The fresh air helped me wake up.  I made a quick visit to M&S and then had to run for my bus.  It had driven past me, but I could see that it was stuck in a big queue of buses at eth bus stop.  I made –but only just.  As I got on the bus I spotted the French rugby team going into the Balmoral Hotel across the road.
 
Once home I had a very quick late lunch, then popped out for some things for tea.  It was then home to make tea, orzo with prawns and salmon.  It seemed to go down ok – I thought it was very nice.  We had our usual quiet Friday night.  TT zoomed, BB was gaming and I eventually retreated to the sofa and watched some TV.
 
The Jenners building was looking lovely in the sunshine today. I am reading a book set in Victorian Edinburgh and Kennington and Jenners has just featured in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.