The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Down Gydynap Lane, near Stroud

View over St Dominic's church at Woodchester. GG and I took a walk around the block from her garden, having managed to have lunch outside in the warmth of the sunshine. We'd spent two hours upstairs trying to sort out her passwords. I had an idea that we could transfer them from her sheets of A4 paper into an alphabetized notebook, and replace duplicated passwords. Of course there'd be no point in transferring them if they weren't correct, so we had to start logging in. The internet connection at GGs is poor, and I'm rubbish at using her laptop because it's different from mine.... We got a few done, and gave up for the time being, defeated by Marks and Spencers. I''m not surprised that some older people don't do online shopping!

GG dropped me home, and I got ready for a concert at St Laurence's church in Stroud: a cello and organ rendition of John Tavener's The Protecting Veil (1989). This is an astonishing, mesmerizing piece of work in which the cello 'sings' and 'cries' throughout. I've put up a link to another performance here https://youtu.be/dTQgc8I6-Bc
which is 42 minutes long, and performed by cello and orchestra. Do take a listen if you're curious.

G (the other G) and I wandered around afterwards, discussing the music, and Ukraine, but the sun was setting and the temperature had plummeted, so I said my goodbyes and made my way home. My ears were aching from the cold.

In other news, our mother has turned the corner in hospital and is talking sense again. Her infection if that is what it was, has cleared up, and the only current concern is her potassium levels. She has end-stage renal failure, so this has to be monitored. All being well, she'll be discharged tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.