The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Lockdown's just another word...

(I can't change the thumbnail crop, annoyingly).

Such a bright day today! Cold out of the sunshine, but who cares?  I got my cards ready outside on the back table, because an acquaintance was coming round to view them. She duly arrived, and bought some of mine, plus some of Steve's. Oh happy day! We had a distanced cup of tea and chatted about the likelihood of ever wanting to do anything 'daring' such as taking a train to London, once things begin to open up. I checked my phone later and found that I'd had a web order, and another by email, both for cards. And I sold a jigsaw too, yesterday. Yippee.

I popped into the cottage hospital to drop off a card for another acquaintance who has broken her wrist. Then went down to town to meet friend J. We pootled around some shops, then got a drink and sat on a bench. The hot chocolate from that outlet has not given me a headache, I am pleased to say. I am not going to go mad on it, but this is progress.  Bought a newspaper and meandered home, where CleanSteve had been making progress on a jigsaw we're doing. I've just been lounging around at my desk since then, trying to sort out the various orders. 

A new shop is opening in Stroud, in fact a department store of sorts, so  thought about applying for a job there, but they only pay the minimum wage, plus benefits. Wonder what the benefits are? Are they as in, friends with benefits? Or top up social security benefits? Would I give up my indoor market stall after waiting five years to get a regular slot? Will we be popping in and out of lockdown for many years to come? If so, non-essential retail of any sort looks dodgy. But staying in my current job and only being allowed holidays during school holidays isn't great either. Mind you, what holidays are we talking about? Where will be allowed to go?

Is lockdown just another word for nothing left to choose? 
Discuss.

I heard more about my sort-of-stepfather's funeral which was held yesterday. There WAS a piper, a McColl, whose family has links with the village, at the ceremony in Duror. After the church service, the hearse toured the village, including going up to the head of Cuil Bay, where K used to live in the big house. Villagers lined the road to pay their respects. It was the same when Innis McColl, who used to run the village shop in the good old days, was recently buried. Roadside attendance. A small private wake was held afterwards. In fact, probably several very small wakes were held in different houses. Our mother was tired and didn't stay long, but respects were paid. In the summer, there will be a larger gathering, a memorial service at the village hall, where my mother and K had their wedding reception in 2015. I went to my first village Christmas party there in 1974! And then there the pony club dances, and the fetes, before we moved to North Connel. I'm glad my mother has moved back to Duror village, when she remarried, as there is a great community feel, though time will tell as to whether she decides to stay there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.