Murky Haworth

We had a slow start to the day, which was good for a change, then drove over to Haworth to the Wholefood Shop to fill up our washing up liquid and fabric conditioner bottles.  It takes a while for them to be filled so we had a treat of lunch at Cobbles and Clay.

The Haworth cobbles were very quiet.  Many of the tourist shops, having opened all weekend, take Monday as their closing day, and the weather didn't lend itself to walking the streets.  When it's wet and depressing like this, it reminds me of the book I read about the village some years ago.  It was pretty much condemned in Victorian times with open sewers on the streets.  I wonder what the local folk would think of how it is viewed and visited these days?

Lunch eaten, bottles filled we returned home.  Tony had paperwork to complete from his coaching assessments on Saturday, and I set about chopping, partially cooking and freezing the remaining carrots from the allotment.

As I type it has grown very dark outside and I'm not looking forward to hobbling......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.