Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Classic Sploot

It was my husband who first correctly identified this odd pose as a sploot. Corgis are a breed that is particularly fond of splooting and so are pit bull terriers. Apparently this is a very comfortable position for some dogs, and our Jax is one of them.

I picked up my friend Barbara at the farm this afternoon and we went out for a nice walk with Jax. Lots of people, and dogs, out enjoying the beautiful weather so I had lots of opportunities to observe just how much more training I need to do with the boy. He is getting somewhat better about his enthusiasm level in greeting people, but he is still completely deaf when he sees other dogs. He apparently thinks they ALL want to be his new best friend. We walked about 1.5 miles and then sat on a bench about 20 feet off the main walking road. Jax was very content to watch all the people and dogs passing and at one point he dropped from a sit down into this position where he could keep an eye on everything while being very comfortable.

Jax is now conked out next to me on the sofa where I expect he will stay for the next few hours. Lots of mental and physical stimulation today.

Another little piece of dark with rice today.

Tomorrow is going to be colder so winters not done with us yet, I’m afraid.

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.