An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

They arrived!

I set my alarm for 7am to get up for a pool session.  At 6am I re-set it for 7.20am thinking that extra 20 mins sleep was required.  Not sure what happened my own incompetence but I woke up to an empty room, bright light shining in and my phone telling me it was 9.10am!  Damn!  Asked D why he hadn't woken me and he said I was sleeping so soundly he thought I'd rather sleep.  Thoughtful, but now I've established a regular routine, I hate missing 
a pool session and I missed Monday's so it was a double whammy.  Oh well, will have to work extra hard on Friday.

This afternoon the plan was to get into the cupboard in wee spare room as it's been needing a proper clear out for years.  Then just after lunch the postman rang the door bell to deliver a parcel.  Turns out it was my Mijello Mission Gold watercolour paints that I have been patiently waiting for (I thought they were coming from USA but they are manufactured in South Korea.)

All my earlier plans went out the window!  

Took myself off to the studio and had a lovely time creating colour charts.  Normally I swatch three samples of each colour - full strength, mid strength and light strength - but these paints are so rich I had so make six swatches of each colour.

When finished I had time for a very quick play to test how they spread on paper.  Oh my!  They are sublime!  A little goes a very long way.  And they melt so beautifully into one another.  

My initial impression is that these paints are not designed for fine detail botanical work (although in the right hands I know they would be amazing for that purpose) but for large, loose impressionistic work using large mop and hake brushes.  The colours are so vibrant and spread so beautifully. I have some full imperial and half imperial sheets of watercolour paper that I have been saving for the right paint and this is it.  I am looking forward to working large with these paints and lots of water.  It could get messy!  :-))

Off on an adventure tomorrow and seeing friends in Edinburgh on Friday, so I will have to be patient a little longer.  

But come the weekend..... :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.