Ancient

Another year another set of candles to blow out!
Wasn’t really in the zone in the morning after another bad night…this time it was more explicable as I was rerunning conversations and beating myself up about what I’d said…..the gloom just intensified through the morning but was lifted slightly following some texts and a brief chat.
Felt bad at being grumpy, since A had laid on a lovely breakfast and they both got up early to share it with me despite her having a day off work (by choice not illness this time!). Did cheer up a bit when Mt phoned to let me see AR in her Fantastic Mr Fox book day outfit that they’d made from charity shop finds. She loves Roald Dahl books and has read them all now.
Into the office and a full on day of meetings, back to back (it’s the last birthday I’ll be doing that!) although finished at 4 and came home to find cards, flowers, presents, home made lime and coconut cupcakes and Nosecco. By then was in the mood to enjoy it all and we had a jolly time.
Later they treated me to dinner at Chez Jules, and it was lovely. Had oysters, fillet steak and then the waiters brought out chocolate mousse with a birthday candle and all the restaurant sang Happy Birthday. Classic stuff….and so lucky to have had their company and thoughtfulness today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.