Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Open House

There aren't many things that make me happier than glancing out the window and seeing a pair of bluebirds checking out the garden real estate.  This has always been a favorite box for bluebirds but last year they didn't nest here so I wasn't sure what to expect this spring.  I've seen a pair around the yard/woods recently and seen the male perching near the box, but this is the first time I've observed more serious activity.  Fingers crossed.  Not a great photo as I took it through the kitchen window which is in need of cleaning - not to mention the light was wicked. And a photo of Mrs in Extra - she's subtle but beautiful.

I took Jax out on a little snifari in the yard - he loves smelling things, everything actually.  And he likes to grab small twigs when I'm not paying attention and then promptly eat them.  He isn't very good at "drop it" under the best of circumstances and he goes completely deaf on it outside.  So, more work to be done.  I had him on a 15 foot lead so we did some sit/stays and comes.  When invented by a treat, he's pretty good at both although if a squirrel came along I'm sure all his training would be out the window.  Today marks his 8 month birthday.  

It's cold again today but will gradually warm up to the low 70's on Sunday!  I'm itching to work in the garden but all I've been able to do so far is just clean up some of the dead stuff.  I leave my garden a mess in the winter because all the dead stems, stalks and leaves provide habitat for overwintering insects and spiders.  Now is about the time I start tidying up a bit.  Which is a little more complicated with a teenage dog.

Too early for chocolate yet today but it will be something dark and delicious when I get to it!  

And zoom cocktails with the besties tonight.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.