Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Glasgow on Saturday night

I arrived about two hours late in Glasgow after two trains were cancelled from Hexham to Carlisle. The replacement bus came when the third train would have departed. Sigh!

If only I had checked Trainline.

My morning was going very well; too well in retrospect. I paused to book my flight to Spain for May. That is when I realised my passport was missing. I’d taken it to London last week. Please don’t ask why!

I won’t bore you with the search, but I nearly emptied my beautifully packed suitcase before I found it had fallen under the dressing table.

In the search I found an envelope I didn’t recognise. Guess what? I should have applied for a new driving licence when I hit 70…..

Suffice it to say there was not really time to set up the tripod (already packed) to take a self portrait. I did manage it, at the expense of lunch.

When the trains were cancelled I had to sit back on the slow bus to Carlisle!

I treated myself to a taxi to the airport. The queue was long but good humoured. The hen party ahead of me were a gift. I asked the man behind me to watch my case - much too heavy for anyone to steal - and I grabbed a few shots.

The bride made it as an extra.

Finally at the Holiday Inn. (Did you know there is also a Holiday Inn Express?) I net three of my fellow photographers for dinner. I’m sure we are going to have fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.