Deer, Ducks......and Dawn

I never know what 
I might find when I go out
with my camera

~carliewired

I was awake all too early this morning....it's going to be a long day. At 4, I was drinking hot chocolate and sampling the hot cross buns. At 6, I was out on the deck catching the first light behind my mountains. It was a mild 1 C. I decided I should be somewhere by the river for sunrise. When I popped the garage door up, I could see deer in my rearview mirror. What a nice surprise first thing in the morning. I backed the truck out and the four bucks moved up the cul de sac. I moved slowly up the slope so as not to disturb them. They moved into a driveway by the intersection, then one by one they bounded over a side fence. I headed off to Vantage Point. 

As I drove through the Brocklehurst neighbourhood, six does came out of a side road to cross the main road in front of me. They were cautious and rather nervous, sticking to the fencelines. I pulled over to the shoulder and got some photos of them through the windshield. The last to round the corner were these two. They must be twins. I left them to head off to see the sunrise. 

At Vantage Point it was just me and one dog and his walker. There was a very chilly wind out of the west. I got a shot of morning colour by the float plane dock. I moved the truck over closer to the dock and walked out to the edge by the river. I looked over to see four common mergansers fishing along the shore. They were moving fast and ducking and diving. It was a challenge to get one reasonable shot. These are the females and are so different than the males I saw yesterday at the slough. I got my shot of the sun peeking over to light up the valley, then headed for home. 

Just before my turn up into Batchelor Heights, I saw four does on the slope just below my house. They were browsing energetically through the sagebrush with no concern for the traffic below them. I wheeled over to get a quick shot. 

I was back home before the sun was coming in my windows. I'll be waiting for the floor layers who should be here by 9:30. I could have my kids here today, too. The more, the merrier! 

The forecast offers a mainly sunny day with a high of 5 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.