Traces of Winter

Sunshine can be a 
bit deceiving if it's paired
with cold temperatures

~ carliewired

I had my sleep in two installments overnight. I was out on the deck at 7 catching the first ray of sunshine over my mountains. Winter was laughing at us with chilly temperatures. It was -6 C on the deck. Then I was out the door and on my way to Riverside Park for a bird count. 

I parked near the railway bridge and had a quick look around from the river's edge. There were some Canada geese on the far shore and also around the railway bridge. They were the only ones making any noise this morning. On the near shore, mallards were plying the river. In the middle of the channel, gulls had set themselves up on a sandbar. No newcomers could be seen here. The Trumpeter swans have moved off. 

Across to the north shore I could see someone walking their dog along the river. I caught their reflections, too. Just as I was about to head back to my truck, a senior came along carrying his dog's leash and a ball toy, but the dog was free. I have to wonder why he marched into the park when there are so many other places he can take his dog without being in conflict with city bylaws. There is signage everywhere! 

I picked up some breakfast and headed home. I was inside enjoying my cappuccino with the 8 AM news. I'm hoping my flooring install is completed this morning. This is day 3. I want my privacy back.

I've been less than impressed with some of the behaviours of these installers. On day 1, they brought in a ghetto blaster and set it up downstairs without asking if I minded listening to their rock radio station. It was not particularly loud, but it was a constant undertone all day. On the second day, it was louder. By mid morning, my son-in-law who was back to work on the downstairs bathroom shut it off while the crew was outside having a cigarette break. Nothing was said. 

On day 1 I discovered that my large fan from downstairs had been moved upstairs to dry the flooring glue in my closet. No one had asked if using my fan was all right with me. 

On day 1 when the installers arrived, I had pointed out the newly renovated washroom on the main floor for their use should they need it. At the end of day 2, my daughter noticed that one of the hand towels in that bathroom was gone. She found it downstairs draped over my little washbasin I'd used for camping. No one had asked for rags or old towels. I've been sitting in my recliner the entire time so I'm not hard to find. Why have they prowled through my house just helping themselves? 
I will be having a serious chat with the company when the job is done. 

I'm home for the day wishing all is completed soon. I will be gritting my teeth until it is. 

We have a sunny day with a high of 2 C. We have the prospect of warmer days again by the weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.