79 F

A changeable sky
with six intrepid painters -
what could be better?

~carliewired

I was on my way to the wash off 15 Avenue E right after breakfast. We were to meet at 10 around the end of 50th Street. P was going to get there first so we could see where to rendez-vous. She was already set up and working when I arrived. 

The morning had started sunny and bright but the clouds kept moving and changing while our group was painting. 

I was determined to try something 'new' today. (at least new for me) Instead of drawing, then inking, then painting, I thought I'd try painting first. So facing north, I brushed in colour areas for my landscape. Then I went back with a carbon ink pen to add some lines/textures. It's all right but I'm not ready to toss my pencil away yet. 

We were all remarking that the ocotillo is getting ready to bloom. Most of the time this plant looks like a collection of dry, brittle spiny canes. Add some rain and the red blossoms at the end of the canes begin to form. The canes are sprouting green leaves, too. 

We've missed L today. We included a fellow from Wyoming this morning. The couple from Maine came again today. We are an eclectic group!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.