Life In Wales

By KarenC

Look Who's Here!

The lovely HeartFreek and Mr W are staying just up the road from us for the next week and a bit, and we arranged to meet up for a beach walk this morning.  Of course, I'd already decided that I would try and incorporate the Colwyn sign in my Blip and fortunately, they obliged!  It was lovely to see them both as it's been about a year since I last saw Tamzin, but a lot longer since I saw Mr W!   We had a lovely walk although it was a bit breezy on the way back!

I had to get home by 11am as we had a landscape gardener coming to price up some work, and I stopped off at Aldi on the way back.  While I was there I got a phone call from the care home to tell me that mum had had a funny turn this morning and had chest pains so they called the paramedics.  They checked her over and said her heart was fine but they thought she had an infection so were taking her to Glan Clwyd Hospital to get her checked out and suggested I call the hospital this afternoon for an update.

The gardener came and measured up  and will email us a quote and said although he's booked up until August, as it's just a small job  - laying some flags and turf to the front garden, he should be able to fit it in, in about 3-4 weeks time.

I then went to an Aqua gym class at the Llandudno Swim Centre, it's the first time I've been and it was great, so I'll definitely be making it a regular class.  While I was in Llandudno, I nipped to Next to get some new jeans and returned some at M&S.  I commented that their 'regular' length seemed longer than it used to be, and the lady said that it's recently been changed to match the men's length!  So I now must be short!

I phoned the hospital  as I drove home and managed to speak to the A&E doctor who had been treating mum.  He asked me if I was driving and I said that I was but I had bluetooth, he didn't want to talk while I was driving, so I pulled up - he said that A&E doctors are always aware of the dangers!  Anyway, he was very nice and said that mum has a chest infection and a touch of pneumonia, but said she's ok and has been on intravenous antibiotics and they were happy to send her back home with antibiotics.

The home have just called to say that she's now back but she's a bit weak and they've put her to bed so I was unable to speak to her, but I'll call tomorrow.  I'm very impressed with how responsive everyone's been - when I saw her yesterday there were no signs of any problem, so it's obviously been caught quickly, and hopefully she'll be feeling better very soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.