Relaxed day

No driving today and no pressure put on ourselves to do anything specific. Jon did look at the map and plan a walk, but in the end we de-toured from that route, but not until we had enjoyed excellent coffee and scones with jam and cream in The Copper Kettle. The small cafe/tearoom doesn't open until 10.30, but by 10.35 was almost full. It seems to be the only open cafe in the village at the moment. There is a lot of work going on, updating properties ready for the coming holiday season, but this village seems busy at all times of the year.

After our coffee we started along the road towards Seahouses, with a plan to turn off inland on a footpath. But. When we got to the footpath, the was a sign saying 'Bull in this field'. We hesitated. We didn't actually think there was a bull, but decided not to take the chance, and continued up the road, to Seahouses. That was going to be a 3 mile walk. It was very windy with the wind driving towards us. In the end, we crossed over the road and onto the beach. Just as windy, but a better view. We looked in the rock pools, and picked up a few shells - I automatically do that, even though they will just sit in the bottom of my bag. We turned to walk back along the beach, and the wind behind us helped us on the way back - and was driving the dry sand in mini sandstorms along the beach around our ankles. It was great to see it swirling around - a bit like those unique patterns in the flames of a fire. I wrote a poem which I have shared on my Facebook page. A very quick poem, but it was nice to be inspired as it has been so long since I've felt happy enough to write anything.

We walked back via the church which is just over the road. St Aidens Church. We went into the crypt where there are the remains of 110 Anglo saxons, who have recently been moved from their original burial place, after some archaeological excavations. I went in the church and it is very much worth a visit if you are here.

This afternoon I have been thinking a bit more about the ideas I have for a fiction novel, but not for children this time. I've had a lot of mixed ideas and am trying to iron them out. They cross over as every time I have ideas, they don't match the last lot. And I don't remember what my last ideas were!! I've actually built a fake family tree on my family tree programme, for my fictional family. It has been quite useful as I feel I'm growing people. It is very unlike me to be doing this kind of planning - I usually dive straight in and start writing, but having read about how to write a novel, it is clear that it would be easier if I plot it all out. I'll see how far I get before I lose interest completely!!

Tonight I think I'll look at my real family history!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.