Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Golf, Anyone?

I haven't played since I was 30-years old.  I brought my clubs to Maryland with me when I moved there but the only course was on the Naval Air Station, so that wasn't happening (same thing with my racquetball stuff). I once shot a 65, which was pretty amazing and very exciting.
But that was on the Town of Hamburg's 9-hole course.  :-)

These photos were taken during the Green Valley News tournament. I volunteered to help because the proceeds are to be used for education scholarships. Little did I know at the time that my duties would include only one thing: sit near the green on the fifth hole.  That's it.  Sit.  It was the par 3 hosting the hole-in-one contest.  I haven't the faintest idea why, but that hole was the only one needing a volunteer. Among my duties was not  to verify any hole in ones.  I froze (almost) to death. I was out there from 7:30 to 10:00. The guy who was taking over for me rode out on a golf cart. I asked how I was supposed to get back to the clubhouse. He pointed to the golf cart.  OH, NO! That wasn't happening, either. I did make it back but was fairly annoyed. I mentioned how cold I was and rather than offering me coffee I was offered a soda. Say what?

To the blip: The ball on the green was the closest to getting a hole in one. The woman had a great follow through and the gentleman epitomized the need to keep your head down. I also think his wife cuts his hair  :-)

I'm posting this on Tuesday but the tournament was on Sunday (photos posted correctly).   I spent two days freaking out because I couldn't find the SD card. I have a terrible habit. I remove cards before I'm ready to stick them into the computer. Then I run around frantically looking for them. I didn't want to screw up my blip-streak because of my idiocy. Guess where I found the card? In the camera!

Quickie
*Father: ”Little Johnny, you were adopted.”

 Little Johnny: ”I knew it! I want to meet my biological parents!”

 Father: ”We are your biological parents. Now pack up, the new ones will pick you up in 30 minutes.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.